The Street Friend.

As time kept moving as it usually does, I was traveling (trippin’) with my friends! So I was totally zoned out from the truth, reality.

When I came back to town, I realized how real life seemed without the so called thing, reality, it includes responsibilities, commitments, job, rent, etc etc. My friends had left town, gone to places in quest for a career. More than career, it is the IDENTITY they want to create for themselves!

Well when I left my native, I left back a lot of things, my family, my dog (best girl ever), my home, my heart. But then, the only thing that kept me motivated was passion. Passion towards making people apprehend, through my movies (nothing on that side yet), through my blogs or anything that’ll help me help people feel better about themselves. Basically I was on the search for my IDENTITY too.

I shifted my house in Chennai as my friends left and I had to opt for a smaller house and for the first time I was alone.

Well this is a part which everyone should try. Staying alone for sometime makes you more stable than you can guess. It makes you think deep. You start learning things about yourself that you never knew you had it in you.

So coming back to the point, I shifted my house and then my fondness for dogs made me meet FOXIE (the inspiration for this blog). He’s black, sleek, sharp eyes, kind and friendly. Basically in one word, a dog. The first day I came out of my new house, Foxie was there outside the door looking at me. I tried going next to it to pat it but it took off, well it’s a street dog, so you know how some people would have treated it. It took me sometime(some biscuits too) to make Foxie gain trust in me.

I used to feed (just my left over food and biscuits) it everyday. Few days went by and whenever I left my home I could see him sleeping outside my door and he would walk all the way with me wherever I went. It started jumping on me and started feeling that it had a friend, in another form.

I had to leave Chennai for few weeks and go back to my native for a family ceremony. That day I was sitting down with Foxie outside my door, talking to it, hoping it would understand me (trust me, dogs understand us better than fellow humans). I was rubbing his neck and telling him that I’ll be back in two weeks and please be here , don’t go elsewhere, I guess he wasn’t that into me talking, as he was now lying down on the floor wanting me to rub his stomach. As I was doing all this, I started thinking how this could all be the first time in Foxie’s life. The talking, the massage, the food and a friend. I looked at his eyes and I could see my dog. He had the same look. I trust you, kind of look.

Now I started thinking about what he would feel after I leave tonight. What will he think when he doesn’t see me open the door next day, will he miss his Biscuits?Miss walking with me? What would be the explanation he would give himself for me not turning up. Will he think I abandoned him ? Will he be sad? I told him I’ll be back! But what if he didn’t understand. Who would tell him he going to be alright and that his friend will be back?

I’ll be back and he will jump on me again without asking for an explanation where I was all these days. After all, I am his only friend.

I know how silly all this sounds, but then when you are alone there is kind of deep sensation within you. You start bonding with meaning. I realized how we are all moving fast and all that. But then we have been ignoring the small things in life. We think big, forgetting small happiness. The very little time I spent with Foxie has left me so many memories and compassion. This is not just for animals, it is the same in the case of humans too. There are people who give us so much love and care and yet we don’t realize how important they are to us. Valuing it when it’s there, is better than feeling lost when it’s not there.

Like how vehicles need fuel to run, I believe we, humans need love and other emotions to progress in life.

Thanks for reading and becoming a small part of my world.

Shriman Adhith.

(Happy hippie) 🍂

 

This is Foxie. ❤️

8 thoughts on “The Street Friend.

Leave a comment